Provincial Visitation 2017-18

Each year, the Jesuit Provincial Superior visits each of the Jesuit communities and works of the province.  This is a custom and practice established by St Ignatius himself.

The purpose of the annual Visitation is to create and sustain a strong link between the centre (the Jesuit curia) and the various institutions of the province, including the schools.

Through the Visitation (and in other ways throughout the year), the Jesuit identity and mission of the school community is affirmed and strengthened as the school is invited to give an account of the work it has done “living and learning for the greater glory of God and the common good.” (St Ignatius, Constitutions n.440)

The Visitation is also an important occasion when the Provincial, on behalf of the Society of Jesus, can recognise and celebrate the good work done, and thank everyone in the school community for what they have achieved.

A focal point for the Visitation will be the celebration of the Eucharist with the whole school (or a substantial part of it) at which the Provincial presides and preaches.

Monday 5th March 2018
all day
St Aloysius College
Tuesday 6th March 2018
morning
St Aloysius College Junior School

Thursday 14th March 2018
all day

Wimbledon College
Friday 15th March 2018
morning
Donhead Preparatory School
Wednesday 21st March 2018
all day
Mount St Mary's College
Thursday 22nd March 2018
morning
Barlborough Hall School
Wednesday 6th June 2018
all day
Stonyhurst College
Thursday 7th June 2018
morning
St Mary's Hall
Thursday 7th June 2018
afternoon
St Joseph's School

Friday 8th June 2018
all day

St Ignatius College
Friday 29th June 2018
morning
St John's Beaumont
 

Guidance for Provincial Visitation

Guidance for Jesuit Schools for Provincial Visitation (revised 2015)